Wednesday, 19 April 2017

NEW: U2 live in Melbourne 1989 - 2CD - October 13 - source #2

"Knockin' On Melbourne's Door" (possibly)
National Tennis Center, Melbourne, Australia, 1989-10-13
Source: Unknown

Disc 1:
1 Hawkmoon 269
2 Desire
3 All Along The Watchtower
4 All I Want Is You
5 Where The Streets Have No Name
6 I Will Follow
7 I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
9 One Tree Hill
10 God Part II
11 Bullet The Blue Sky
12 Running To Stand Still
13 Van Diemen's Land

Disc 2:
1 Bad
2 With Or Without You
3 New Year's Day
4 Pride (In The Name Of Love)
5 Angel Of Harlem
6 When Love Comes To Town
7 Knockin' On Heaven's Door
8 Love Rescue Me
9 "40"

Total runtime: 1:45:21

The sound is not the best, but it is clear.  Hiss is evident at all volumes.  The last second of disc 1 track 10 finishes at the very beginning of the following track with a sudden cut at that point.  The same thing happens on disc 2 tracks 5 and 6 with both tracks starting with an apparent cut.  The audience is prevalent throughout but not bad during songs for the most part, with a couple of extremely irritating banshees close to the taper.  No clicks or pops noticed during any of the tracks.

On the plus side, it's a fun performance.  U2 is still young and on top of the world (or down under it as the case may be).  The music is not muffled or weak, the singing is close, if it had more bass and less banshee it would be good.

Download this bootleg here

No comments:

Post a Comment